PDA

View Full Version : Not new to gym or supplements, but need direction

tolarius
08-31-2011, 04:39 PM
So I have been working out for several months, the only supplement I really take is whey protein only after my workouts (which are using late in the day around 7 or 8 pm). My goals are pretty simple, loose some weight in the midsection (not much left), build more upper body strength as my lower body strength is good.

Here is a quick rundown of my work outs:
30 minutes of cardio (15 jogging/running, 15 biking)
weight training

Now the twist, I am a diabetic (Type 2). I've actually lost a lot of weight (6'5, 180 lbs). So I try to stay away from anything with a lot of caffeine b/c that can spike blood sugars. I also stick to low carb whey protein (isolate).

So just looking for some helpful tips or suggestions to add to help with working out. Thanks!

Deviation
12-13-2011, 02:37 AM
What's your routine look like?

Impulse7675
12-13-2011, 02:38 AM
First it is better to warm up for 5-10 minutes, lift weights, then do 20 - 30 minutes of cardio to burn fat. Your diabetes does make things a bit difficult. So it is important to have your blood sugar in check before working out. I would recommend drinking a protein shake before your workout and consuming complex carbs to keep your blood sugar stable. Also check out pre-work out drink which are not caffeinated. I believe Dymatizen xpand has a non caffeinated pre-work out supplement. Follow your workout with a post-work out shake including quick digesting carbs "white bread", sugar, dextrose. I'm not sure how whey protein, pre-workout supplement would effect your blood sugar, so it would be a good idea to monitor it regularly till you know how your body will react. Also it is exremely important for you to keep insulin on you at all times, and quick digesting carbs. I have also heard type II diabetes going into to diabetic ketos acidosis to lose weight. This is very dangerous and will cause life long problems. Hope I helped.