Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Results Charts Help - I don't want to see my 1 rep max. I want to see what I did..

When I click on the chart icon for my Smith Machine bench press log in the website, it displays a chart with my 1 rep max. I really don't care about that. I want to see what I actually lifted and evaluate my progress. Is there a way to have it stop showing 1 rep max?

Thanks in advance....

Progression Tracking Rather Than 1RM Tracking

Is there a way to track weekly progression rather than 1 rep max? For instance, I have been doing leg press's for two months. Started at 180lbs and now at 240. When I track that exercise, it only plots the increase in 1 RM. Is there a way to plot the week to week improvement by the actual weight increases?

More Experienced than a Senior decu68's Avatar
    I don't believe there is.

The 1RM is trying to give you a common denominator (coefficient) so that you can compare your results. With weights and repetitions changing, the 1RM is one of the better ways to track if you are actually progressing. Who is lifting more, 180 lbs x 15 reps OR 240 lbs x 3 reps? The are approximately lifting the same however at a quick glance one would think the person lifting 240 lbs can lift more and that is not the case.

Well the volume chart shows you another measure. If you do 3 sets, one day you manage 10 reps, 8 reps and 7 reps at weight W and the next time you get 10 reps, 10 reps and 9 reps at the same weight, you've clearly improved even if your 1RM hasn't changed. The volume chart will show this.

But it's still imperfect, as switching weights in from one day to the next might give you an increased 1RM but a decreased volume for instance.

More Experienced than a Senior decu68's Avatar
    But it's still imperfect, as switching weights in from one day to the next might give you an increased 1RM but a decreased volume for instance.