Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    New Member jus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1

    Smile Tracking weight for dumbbells vs barbells in JEFIT

    I was doing dumbbell bench presses and putting the weight of one dumbbell into the log on JEFIT. When I switched to barbell I obviously put the entire weight of the barbell and started wondering...if I am doing two 15 lb dumbbells am I supposed to log 30 lbs at however many reps I do?

  2. #2
    More Experienced than a Senior mrwright's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    462
    It doesn't really matter aslong as you keep it consistent, if you prefer to add up the 2 dumbbells then do that, if not just use the one.
    E N G L A N D!

  3. #3
    I Am JEFIT Legend Deviation's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,864
    Most log the weight of one dumbbell. As mrwright said though, just be consistent.
    Please do not PM support requests. Post them ->[URL="https://www.jefit.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?14-JEFIT-App-and-Website-Questions"]here[/URL]<-.
    -=Justin=- [URL="http://twitter.com/#!/JustinDoles"]@JustinDoles[/URL] - IG: [URL="https://instagram.com/justin_doles/"]justin_doles[/URL]- Fueled by Nerd Rage

    [URL="http://www.jefit.com/forum/showthread.php?6753-Deviation-s-Secret-Public-Log"]* Workout Log[/URL] | [URL="http://www.jefit.com/forum/showthread.php?16131-5-3-1-Workbook-Spreadsheet-Resources"]5/3/1 Workbook + Resources[/URL]

  4. #4
    Member junkedbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    8
    I've always logged the weight of one dumbbell, at least when you're talking about bench press with dumbbells you usually say you're using 80's not 160 lbs.. I guess as long as you keep it consistent.

  5. #5
    More Experienced than a Senior mrwright's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by junkedbrian View Post
    I've always logged the weight of one dumbbell, at least when you're talking about bench press with dumbbells you usually say you're using 80's not 160 lbs.. I guess as long as you keep it consistent.
    I find it easier that way aswell, saves having to do a little bit of maths in the middle of your workout
    if it says 20 you pick up 20s
    E N G L A N D!

  6. #6
    More Experienced than a Senior decu68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    C.I.S.O. Hqts Canada
    Posts
    414
    My theory is if you are lifting the dumbbells at the same time then log in their weight combined. If you are doing alternate lifts than enter them as individual weights.

  7. #7
    Member junkedbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by decu68 View Post
    My theory is if you are lifting the dumbbells at the same time then log in their weight combined. If you are doing alternate lifts than enter them as individual weights.
    this actually makes more sense

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by junkedbrian View Post
    this actually makes more sense
    It does until you think that doing, say, dumbbell curls lifting together is nowhere near twice as hard as lifting alternately.

    Personally I log the weight of one dumbbell. As long as you're consistent it doesn't matter.

  9. #9
    Senior Senior JEFIT Member amcredle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    229
    yea as long as you are consistent it doesnt matter. however most people log only one..

    1.when you do a barbell bench press your are lifting the weight as one unit. so you add all the weight together.

    2. when doing dumbell bench you arent. if you are really week on one side you will defiantly know. so if you have 50 pounds dumbells. each side is lifting 50 pounds independently.. not 100

    so with 99% of the people. if you are just in regular convo and you said i just pressed 100lbs. 99% of the people are going to think you just pressed 100lb dumbells with each arm...

    but however you want to log it works as long as you know what you are talking about
    MY Journey From Weak to STRONG
    [url=http://www.jefit.com/forum/showthread.php?9387-Alex-s-Work-out-Log]My JEFIT LOG[/url] || [url=http://stronglifts.com/stronglifts-5x5-beginner-strength-training-program/] Stronglifts 5x5 INFO[/url]|| [url=http://bodyspace.bodybuilding.com/amcredle/]MY BODYSPACE[/url] ||[url=http://www.contractplayer.com/nba2kx/index.php/]NBA2k LEAGUE[/url]
    Info On How To
    [url=http://www.jefit.com/forum/showthread.php?9834-The-bench-press]Bench[/url]||[url=http://www.jefit.com/forum/showthread.php?9889-Squat-help]Squat[/url]

  10. #10
    Experienced Member tjohnstad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by amcredle View Post
    ..so with 99% of the people. if you are just in regular convo and you said i just pressed 100lbs. 99% of the people are going to think you just pressed 100lb dumbells with each arm...
    And see that you "are full of`it!" and look at you

    but however you want to log it works as long as you know what you are talking about

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2012, 01:13 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 12:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •