Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Costa's Workout Journal

It's been 60 days since I started lifting weights after several years off.
    age 44
    Starting weight 174lb
    Current weight 180lb

Current regimen is 3x per week 5x5 strength program. Gaining strength on all lifts from 15-25%. Strength still increasing with some signs off peaking in smaller body part exercises including barbell curls. Currently have a mild groin/hip flexors strain so I'm not doing any leg movements for a week. Hope to continue with deadifts and squats next week. The plan is too continue for now with this routine until more plateaus occur. I will, however, change up biceps routine. After that the plan is to either switch to new strength program (wedlers) or a hybrid program incorporating more reps and less time between sets. Still not sure. My focus is on current routine.. My long term goal is still evolving.

I don't have a strict diet regimen. I generally have a protein drink on week day mornings with a fruit like a banana. I go to work with either several eggs, a snack bar like granola, more bananas, a turkey sand which, tuna, or leftovers from night before. When I get home I make a per workout drink with protein powder(whey) and Assault MP. After the workout it's and protein drink from home or something I bought at gym. Then dinner, what ever the wfe makes. So you can see I havnt created anything strict to follow. However, my gains in strength and even appearance are impressive so far. Probably my bodies I itial gain plus muscle memory. I do want to reduce body fat eventually so I will concentrate on this more eventually.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	136 
Size:	73.3 KB 
ID:	105628

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	118 
Size:	76.4 KB 
ID:	105629
    Last edited by branrx; 07-31-2014 at 05:04 PM.

Senior Senior JEFIT Member LiftHeavyWeights's Avatar
    Branrx, sounds like you are making great progress. Well done.